English in Action: The English-Speaking Union

News and Events

National Shakespeare Competition Announced

2018 National Shakespeare Competition finalists at Lincoln Center

Congratulations to each and every one of our 2018 National Shakespeare Competition participants.  The national finals, held on William Shakespeare's birthday, May 23, at Lincoln Center Theater, showcased 55 high school students from around the country.  Each of the contestants qualified by winning at their local and regional levels.

Click to download the competition program.

2018 National Shakespeare Competition Winners
1st Place: Jackson Dean from ESU Palm Springs
2nd Place: Eli Owens from ESU Rochester
3rd Place: Julia Talbot from ESU Boston


Finalists ESU Branch
Gabriela Furtado Coutinho Fort Lauderdale
Christina Liberus New York City
Nicholas Moseley San Diego
Julian O'Byrne San Francisco
Rohan Padmakumar New Orleans
Emily Trend Princeton
Samantha Vatalaro Albany


Semifinalists ESU Branch
Nia Alexander Charlotte
Miriam Arden Tucson
Kaitlyn Bross St. Louis
Jenna Burns Sandhills
Abby Burris Greensboro
Christopher Cates Research Triangle
Reese Dawkins Tulsa
Judy Durkin Los Angeles
Noah Garcia Phoenix
Joilynn Green Austin
Sarah Hamdan Buffalo
Emerson Helmbrecht Charlottesville
Alexandra Jabbarpour Southwest Virginia
Harrison Kidd Nashville
Skylar Mabry Denver
Broen McCloskey Portland
Dylan McCormick Greenwich
Hermela Mengesha Washington DC
Olivia Moffa Syracuse
Katherine Moody Jacksonville
Tiana Mudzimurema Indianapolis
Lucy Mulholland Kansas City
Dianelys Mustelier-Mayeta Lexington
Thien An Nguyen Houston
Andrew Oglesby Atlanta
Ruby O'Malley Hawaii
Madeleine O'Toole Memphis
Zoë Peterson Kentucky
Julianna Portillo-Del Valle Miami
Emir Price Dallas
Sydni Rose Rambo Delaware
Steven Rosario Rhode Island
Catherine Schilling Naples
Maria Guardino Schreiner Cleveland
Ben Shaevitz Palm Beach
Aquila Simmons Columbus
Isabella Siska Cincinnati
Devlin Stark Monmouth County
Morgan Swales Research Triangle
Sam Theis Chicago
Valerie Trapp Central Florida
Phoebe Wall Seattle
Ava Wendelken Central Pennsylvania
Max Yillah Philadelphia
Eden Young Savannah

First Prize: Scholarship to attend Royal Academy of Dramatic Art Young Actors' Summer School

Second Prize: Scholarship to attend American Shakespeare Center Theatre Camp

Third Prize: $500

Support the National Shakespeare Competition and help support our students.

Return to News & Events