English in Action: The English-Speaking Union

National Shakespeare Competition

Distinguished Past Judges

The English-Speaking Union is grateful for the thousands of actors, directors, scholars and educators nationwide who have served as judges over the program's history, including: 

Emily Bergl*
Kate Burton
Ralph Alan Cohen
Kelly Curran* 
Barry Edelstein

Heidi Griffiths 
Rosemary Harris
Edward Herrmann
Michael Klein
Heather Lind*
Alexandra López
Jesse L. Martin
Dr. Peggy O'Brien
Tina Packer
Sarah Jessica Parker
Phylicia Rashad
Christopher Reeve
Louis Scheeder 
Jean Simmons
Richard Thomas
Diane Venora 
Dianne Wiest
Irene Worth

Andre Braugher
Maurice Charney 
Blythe Danner 
Robert Giroux 
Matt Harrington*
Helen Hayes
Dana Ivey
Peter Francis James
Kristin Linklater
Peter MacNicol
Cynthia Nixon
Geoffrey Owens
Annie Parisse
Nancy Piccione
Lynne Redgrave
A.L. Rowse
Michael Sexton
Joe Sofranko*
Courtney B. Vance
Sam Waterston
Gene Wilder
Michael York 

* Competition Alumni 

2017 National Competition Finals Judges onstage with the ten finalists.
Judges included: Ralph Alan Cohen (American Shakespeare Center); Kate Burton (Actor); Dana Ivey (Actor); Peter Francis James (Actor); and Louis Scheeder (Tisch School of the Arts, New York University).