About Us & Activities

Hawaii Competition Winners

Year Winner School
1983 No record
1984 No record
1985 No record
1986 No record
1987 No record
1988 W. Kaipo Schwab Kamehameha High School
1989 David Foutz University Laboratory School
1990 Thomas Lee Mililani High School
1991 Kirsten Lausterer Henry Perrine Baldwin High School
1992 Danny Yamamoto, Jr. Waiakea High School
1993 Michael Bollow Mid-Pacific Institute
1994 Luka Meleana Lyman Punahou School
1995 Brett L. Kiefer Iolani School
1996 Cassandra Wormser Seabury Hall
1997 Cassandra Wormser Seabury Hall
1998 Bryan Black Mililani High School
1999 Melissa Wyman Mililani High School
2000 Mariah Renee Joseph Mid-Pacific School of the Arts
2001 Kelsey Chock Kamehameha High School
2002 Jon Beavers Henry Perrine Baldwin High School
2003 Andrew Pang Kaimuki High School
2004 Julia Ogilvie Punahou School
2005 Tatiana Wilson Iolani School
2006 Kyle Jones Hawaii Baptist Academy
2007 Jacob Friedheim Mid-Pacific Institute
2008 Kelsey Sakimoto Punahou School
2009 Katherine Clifton Punahou School
2010 Connor Lawhorn Punahou School
2011 Connor Lawhorn* Punahou School
2012 Maya Jennings Punahou School
2013 Lea DiMarchi Punahou School
2014 Ari Dalbert Hawaii Home School Association
2015 Sarah Spalding* Mid-Pacific Institute
2016 Ari Dalbert* Hawaii Home School Association
2017 Makana Richter Kaiser High School
2018 Ruby O'Malley Kaiser High School
2019 Mariko Jurcsak Iolani School
2020 Chris Teves Mid-Pacific Institute
2021 Tyler Logan Caro Mid-Pacific Institute

*ESU National Shakespeare Competition, First-Place Winners. Congratulations to Connor, Sarah, Ari and all our finalists!


The English-Speaking Union

Hawaii Branch

Hawaii Branch Landmark Photo

Welcome to the ESU

The ESU celebrates English as a shared language to foster global understanding and good will by providing educational and cultural opportunities for students, educators, and members.

To find out more about our programs click here.