News And Events

2014 Writing Competition

On Sunday, December 7, 2014, five area high school students were recognized for outstanding achievement, by the Denver Branch of the English-Speaking Union, as part of the Fifth Annual, Dr. Howard Beckley Writing Competition.  During the Holiday Tea, held at the Denver Woman's Press Club, guests were treated to readings of the five award-winning entries after which, winning students received certificates and cash prizes.  The 2014 recipients were: First Place, Kennedy Walters, Denver East High School; Second Place, Katherine Pitchford, Bear Creek High School; Third Place, Brandon Arnold, Denver East High School, Honorable Mention, Thomas Vogenthaler, Denver East High School; Honorable Mention, Pacific Obadiah, Denver East High School. 

The theme of this year's competition was "Fiction with a Twist" for which student's were asked to submit a short story fiction piece with a plot twist.  A panel of judges scored the entries based on creativity, action, characters, setting, conflict, dialogue, plot twist and structure.  The writing competition provides students with an opportunity to go beyond the boundaries set in the classroom and write pieces that are personal and filled with their own ideas and imagination.  Sue Stokley, Writing Competition Chair, commented that "one of the most powerful parts of the awards ceremony is listening to the students read their pieces to the audience.  It is here where we get to hear their unique, accomplished voices as they read their stories the way they were meant to be read. We are so honored to hold this competition every year in memory of Dr. Howard F. Beckley and his family, past and present members of the ESU."

      2014 Writing Competition Winners and their Teachers


Return to News & Events

The English-Speaking Union

Denver Branch

Denver Branch Landmark Photo

Welcome to the ESU

The ESU celebrates English as a shared language to foster global understanding and good will by providing educational and cultural opportunities for students, educators, and members.

To find out more about our programs click here.